AS SEEN IN
A National Law Firm With Local Experience
America’s Accident Attorneys
5 STARS ON GOOGLE
Car Accident Attorney Ogden
Ogden can be a wonderful place to visit, explore, or even settle down with your children. Unfortunately, car accidents are common in Utah, and they vary in severity.
According to Utah’s Department of Public Safety, over 53,000 traffic crashes occurred in 2020, causing 23,000 injuries and 276 deaths. These numbers can be pretty alarming.
WE KNOW HOW TO GET RESULTS!
Premises Liability Accidents
Wrongful Death Accidents
Get a Free Consultation Now
What Does an Ogden Car Accident Lawyer Do?
Car accident lawyers help injured victims file personal injury claims and seek compensation for damages caused by other drivers.
There are different laws guiding the settlement of car accident cases in Utah. A car accident attorney versed in Ogden’s peculiarities will help you navigate the situation and get what you deserve.
Getting Your Personal Injury Insurance Paid
In Utah, which is a no-fault state, every driver must have a minimum amount of $3000 in personal injury insurance, also called no-fault insurance. Utah state laws require all vehicle insurance policies to include this type of coverage. So, when you get into an accident, your insurance can cover the medical bills and rehabilitative costs for you and your passengers, lost income, and other out-of-pocket losses to a maximum of $3000.
An Ogden car accident lawyer can ensure that your car accident claim is paid out to you.
SERVICES WE PROVIDE
Excellent Law Attorney For Accident Cases.
Getting the At-fault Party to Pay for Injuries
A personal injury policy might not cover all the costs of serious injuries you suffer in a car accident. If you were not the at-fault party and your medical bills exceed $3000, you can file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company to compensate you for your personal injuries.
Note that Ogden, Utah, uses modified comparative negligence to determine the party responsible for the accident and to what extent. If you are responsible, in part, for the injuries you sustain, your compensation would be reduced. If you’re more than 50% at fault, you’ll completely lose your rights to the personal injury claims.
Getting Compensated for Property Damage
If you didn’t sustain any personal injuries, but your car or other property got damaged in the accident, you can immediately file an insurance claim against the at-fault party’s insurance policy. You will be compensated for the property damage by the at-fault party’s insurance.
Property damage claims are calculated based on the value of the property at the time of the accident and not on the original purchase price.
Getting fair compensation for a car crash in Ogden can be challenging without legal help. Consult with a professional personal injury attorney to help you get an equitable settlement.
What our clients
“America’s Accident Attorneys were serious legal pros that delivered on everything they promised.”
“Richard Fonbuena was excellent, he came through for us. We are grateful!”
“You kept me well informed. You quickly got to the heart of the problem. I was well pleased with the financial settlement. I have great respect for all of you.”
When to Call a Lawyer After a Car Accident?
The timer starts immediately after the accident happens. It’s best to call your car accident lawyer immediately after the car accident. An immediate call will ensure that your lawyer can help you gather the necessary evidence that could be lost or forgotten over time, including witness accounts. If your car accident claim has to be settled in court, you will need these. However, if you cannot immediately call us, you can still get in contact with your Ogden car accident lawyer as soon as possible.
Also, hiring a car accident lawyer immediately shields you from lowball settlement offers from insurance adjusters that can’t even cover the costs of your recovery. Our car accident attorneys can still help you recover fair financial compensation. In cases of an uninsured or underinsured driver, you’ll need to file a civil lawsuit against them to get car accident compensation.
The statute of limitations in Utah to file a car accident injury claim is four years. Car accident victims also have two years to file for wrongful death and three years to file for property damage. If you don’t take legal action within these years, your claim for all the injuries sustained would have lapsed, and a car accident lawyer might not be able to help you.
Why Hire a Car Accident Lawyer in Ogden?
You might ask yourself, “is it worth hiring a car accident lawyer?” Personal injury attorneys can help you cushion the effect of losing a loved one or sustaining severe and life-changing injuries.
The complexity of car accident personal injury cases makes hiring a car accident attorney essential.
Our car accident lawyers will:
- File your insurance claim for financial compensation for personal injuries or damaged properties.
- Build a compelling case with evidence that will be used to prove that you are not the at-fault party.
- Advise you on whether to accept the offered compensation or renegotiate for something better from the insurance adjuster.
Contact car accident lawyers who will represent your best interests in the settlement. We stand firm and vigorously negotiate settlements for our clients that truly reflect all the damages and losses suffered.
How Long Does a Car Accident Settlement Take in Ogden?
A car accident settlement in Ogden can take two forms. Either you settle out of court and get settled from the insurance company, or you have to take the case to court and have a jury or judge determine your settlement.
If the case goes to court, it might take longer than when settled out of a court. However, out-of-court cases might not get you as much as you will from a court.
Whatever your choice might be, you need a car accident lawyer to ensure that you get the best compensation possible and your case is settled in time. Your best interest would always take the front row with your car accident attorney.
How Much Does an Ogden Car Accident Lawyer Cost?
Depending on the facts and circumstances of your case, where the accident occurred, your attorney’s experience level, the size of the law firm, and any other parties involved, such as expert witnesses, you will be charged different fees.
Most Ogden car accident lawyers usually operate on a contingency basis. Your out-of-pocket expenses are eliminated because your legal fees are only charged once your settlement is won and finalized.
Our fees are transparent and reasonable. You can speak to any of our lawyers today for a free consultation and case evaluation!
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Should I Get a Lawyer for an Accident That Was My Fault?
Yes, it would help if you got a lawyer for an accident that is your fault. Since comparative negligence is measured in Ogden, you need a lawyer to determine the portion of your fault that contributed to the accident.
An experienced car accident lawyer will also negotiate with your insurance company to resolve the claim and ensure that you don’t overcompensate for the accident.
What Is the Most Common Injury in a Car Accident?
The most common injuries in car accidents are soft tissue injuries like whiplash. These injuries cause connective tissue damage in places like the muscles, spine, head, and neck. Scrapes and cuts are also fairly common.
Other common serious car accident injuries are spinal cord injuries, traumatic brain injuries, head and neck injuries, and broken bones.
A car accident can cause fatal and life-long injuries. For your medical expenses to be adequately covered, ensure that you wait until the end of the anticipated recovery period before settling your car accident case.