Utah Vehicle Safety Inspections
Vehicle Safety Inspections Are Important in Utah
A fast-paced and ever-evolving world makes it natural for people to postpone important things for later. However, when postponements are made with vehicles, they pose a danger to human lives.
Vehicle safety inspections help drivers identify vehicle defects, ensuring they are fixed before operation on public roads. Accidents happen when a vehicle fails to meet current safety inspection standards, resulting in serious injuries or death.
A car accident attorney can investigate the cause of the accident to determine liability and the best course of action.
In order to ensure safe roads at all times and to reduce the occurrence of accidents, Utah drivers need to become more familiar with safety inspection requirements.
Vehicle Safety Inspection Law in Utah
The requirement that most vehicles obtain a safety inspection certificate to be registered and to operate on Utah highways was removed starting January 1, 2018. Prior to the modification, vehicles in Utah were required to undergo a mandatory safety inspection annually.
Drivers of excluded vehicles must still comply with state laws protecting vehicle safety and equipment if they intend to operate on Utah roads.
A seasoned car accident lawyer Salt Lake City can provide you with more guidance on whether your vehicle requires a safety inspection or not.
Vehicles That Need Safety Inspections
Safety inspections are still required for salvage vehicles, commercial vehicles, and motorhomes with three or more axles that are classified as “Class 6” vehicles.
Additionally, new street-legal ATV registrations require safety inspections and ownership transfers for previous registrations.
Salvage vehicles that have been rebuilt or requesting a rebuilt title need to meet inspection requirements.
Commercial vehicles will need to display a safety inspection certificate or sticker for presenting to law enforcement, but it is not a condition for registration.
Emissions Inspection Requirements in Utah
The emissions inspection requirements vary slightly within Utah counties. In four of five counties, vehicles with model years less than 6 years old require an emissions test to be done once every 2 years.
Salt Lake County requires a vehicle over 6 years old to be tested every year, and a vehicle that fails that emission test cannot complete a vehicle registration. In contrast, Cache County exempts vehicles less than 6 years old from emissions testing.
Independent facilities located in Cache, Utah, Salt Lake, and Weber counties are equipped to perform emissions tests and vehicle inspections.
List of Vehicles Exempted from Emissions Inspection
Other vehicles that are exempt from emissions inspections include new vehicles, vehicles manufactured in 1967 or earlier, implements of husbandry (farm) vehicles, motorcycles or driven motorcycles, electric vehicles, maintenance & construction vehicles, off-highway vehicles, and vintage vehicles. However, Cache county increased its cutoff age from the model year 1967 to 1968 & older.
In addition, custom vehicles no longer require maintenance or emissions inspections.
Diesel vehicles require inspections, although they have varying requirements depending on the county of operation. Diesel-powered vehicles with model years 1998 – 2017 must complete an emission test in Utah.
Davis County requires emissions inspections for only light, medium, and selected heavy-duty diesel vehicles. Weber County exempts diesel vehicles manufactured in 1997 and older with GVWRs under 14,000 lbs.
Time Limit and Order for Emissions Inspections
All emissions testing is to be done no more than two months before the renewal of the registration, and the emissions certificate must be submitted to the appropriate Division of Motor Vehicles office. Successfully passing the emission inspection verifies that your vehicle is not releasing an excess of toxic gasses into the air while in operation.
A car with an odd-numbered model year must complete its emission inspection in odd-numbered years. The requirement is the same for cars with an even-numbered model year so as to meet the biennial interval requirement in Utah counties.
Cost of Safety Inspections in Utah
Inspection fees are self-regulated in Davis, Utah, and Salt Lake counties, with average fees of 25$ in Utah county and Salt Lake. Weber and Cache County impose 20$ and 30$, respectively, to complete the emissions inspection and obtain an emission certificate.
Additional fees may be imposed for Utah emission programs ranging from 1$ to 3$. Fees are to be paid at the time of registration and are due irrespective of whether or not a driver requires a certificate.
Penalties for Failing Safety Inspection Procedures
According to Utah car accident laws, a driver who fails to produce proof of annual inspection when flagged by a trooper may incur a penalty of up to 570 dollars. Failure to repair a previous defect or an inspection repair maintenance violation could attract additional fines of 110$ each. Headlamp and taillight violations also attract $50 fines respectively.
A Salt Lake City truck accident lawyer can provide more information about these fines. Contact us today for more information.
The Future of Safety & Emission Inspection in Utah
The question of whether mandatory safety inspections are beneficial in saving lives has been a topic of debate amongst Utah’s legislative house and its citizens since the enforcement of House Bill 265, which modified the provisions relating to motor vehicle safety equipment and inspection.
State lawmakers believe that fulfilling these requirements poses an unnecessary cost and bothers drivers who are naturally responsible for ensuring safe vehicles on roads.
Effect of Safety Inspection Measures Adopted after January 2018
Since the bill’s passing, highway patrol officers have set out to conduct proactive enforcement of safety inspection laws on Utah roads by issuing out orders for vehicle repairs and periodically carrying out visual inspections at car dealerships.
Their goal is to intensify efforts toward ensuring safety on the highways while protecting the people’s constitutional rights. This raises a concern about the strictness of the procedures employed.
Utah highway patrol officers have reported an increase in car crashes as a result of malfunctioning cars. However, car inspections and servicing could have prevented most of these accidents.
What Is the Next Step in Protecting Yourself?
Securing you and your vehicle’s safety is your responsibility and should not be disregarded. A proper driver whose vehicle passes the safety inspection requirement reduces their chances of incurring serious injuries on the road.
A car can reveal a lot about the accident, including elements that were not visible at first instance. If you have kept up with proper maintenance and inspections, a vehicle report can help your case.
If you have been involved in a car accident and are unsure of the next step to take, consider turning to America’s accident attorneys to provide you with quality representation for your case.
The Accident Attorneys of America help individuals involved in various types of accidents, including car accidents, workplace accidents, slip-and-fall accidents, and animal bites. We are a Salt Lake City personal injury law firm offering services to people like you. Get in touch with us to schedule a free consultation with a Salt Lake City premises liability lawyer now.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Should I Still Get a Lawyer for an Accident That Was My Fault?
Yes, it would be best if you still got a lawyer. In addition to investigating the extent of your fault, an experienced truck accident lawyer will negotiate with your insurance company to resolve the claim.
What Is the Most Common Injury in a Truck Accident?
The most common injuries in a truck accident are spinal cord injuries, traumatic brain injuries, head and neck injuries, and broken bones.
A truck or even a semi-truck accident can cause fatal and life-long injuries. For your medical expenses to be adequately covered, ensure that you wait until the end of the anticipated recovery period before settling your truck accident case.