What You Need to Know About Utah Auto Insurance Requirements
Learn more about Utah auto insurance requirements, including coverage options, average costs, and legal aspects of car insurance.
Utah Car Insurance Requirements
Like most states, Utah requires drivers to carry vehicle insurance. There are some minimum insurance requirements, along with some options that could increase your amount of coverage.
The type of insurance you have—along with insurance and personal injury laws—can affect how a claim for personal injury, property damage, or wrongful death will be handled if you’re involved in a car accident in Salt Lake City or elsewhere in Utah.
Without the required car insurance, you could face fines or liability if you’re involved in an accident. If you’re a new driver in Utah, understand the Utah car insurance requirements before you hit the road.
What Are the Minimum Requirements for Car Insurance in Utah?
Passenger cars and trucks in Utah must be insured with a minimum coverage of:
Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person/$65,000 per accident;
Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident; and
Personal Injury Protection: $3,000
Bodily injury liability coverage helps pay for injuries to another person if you are responsible for a crash. If you damage someone else’s property in an accident, such as their car or a fence, property damage liability will cover those damages. Personal Injury Protection isn’t required for motorcycles, side-by-sides, ATVs, and boats.
Insurance providers must also offer the following:
Uninsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person/$65,000 per accident
Underinsured motorist coverage: $25,000 per person/$65,000 per accident
Most individuals can waive these coverages, but it’s wise to keep them. We’ll explain why below.
How Does Personal Injury Protection Insurance Work?
Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance is a type of no-fault coverage, which means you can access the benefits even if you were at fault for the accident.
Many people opt for additional coverage, as medical expenses and lost wages add up quickly, and the $3,000 required minimum doesn’t go very far. In addition to being available even if you’re to blame for the accident, another advantage of PIP insurance is that funds are generally available quickly after your accident.
If you have to file a personal injury lawsuit to recover additional damages, it can take a while before you have any proceeds from a settlement or verdict.
Will Auto Insurance Cover All of My Car Accident Injuries?
This is a complex question. Most car accidents in no-fault states like Utah involve dealing with multiple insurance companies.
Your PIP will cover medical expenses and possibly a portion of your lost wages up to $3,000 or more if you purchased additional coverage. Your health insurance may also cover some of your medical treatment.
Your PIP may not be enough to cover all of your medical expenses. Suppose someone else was at fault for the accident, and you sustained a serious injury. In that case, you may be able to file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company to recover additional compensation.
You may only recover non-economic damages (pain and suffering) unless injuries from a car accident:
Cause permanent impairment, disfigurement, or disability;
Result in a bone fracture; OR
Result in medical expenses above $3,000.
You may want to contact a reputable car accident lawyer near you if you’re involved in an accident. They’ll be able to determine which insurance policies apply, and they can help you navigate the insurance claims process.
If your claim is denied, car accident lawyers can help you file an appeal or a personal injury lawsuit if necessary. They aim to help you get compensation for your car accident injuries.
What if the Driver Who Hit Me Doesn’t Have Car Insurance?
Utah doesn’t require drivers to carry uninsured or underinsured motorist insurance. Insurance providers offer it, but you can waive it. It’s best not to waive it; you may even want to carry more than the minimum required.
Why? Because if the at-fault driver is uninsured, once you’ve used your PIP, you’ll be personally responsible for all of the remaining medical expenses from your crash.
There were more than 61,000 crashes across Utah in 2021. That’s more than 167 every day. Considering that roughly 6.5% of all Utah drivers don’t carry insurance, possibly up to 4,000 people involved in those crashes didn’t have insurance. That’s where uninsured motorist (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage comes in.
If you’re injured in a hit-and-run or hit by a driver who doesn’t have an insurance policy, a UM policy will cover your damages up to your policy limit. Likewise, if the at-fault driver has insurance, but it isn’t enough to cover all your damages, UIM coverage would provide additional coverage. It may cover bodily injury, property damage, or both, depending on the policy.
The thresholds discussed above for non-economic damages don’t apply to hit-and-run accidents. That means if you have a UM policy, you can use it to recover damages for pain and suffering.
How Can a Utah Car Accident Attorney Help with a Car Accident Insurance Claim?
Insurance companies are profit-driven businesses. And while they may seem helpful in their communication after an accident, they will try to settle your claim for as little as possible. They often try to blame you for the accident in an attempt to deny your claim.
A skilled personal injury attorney has dealt with insurance companies in hundreds, if not thousands, of cases. They know what tactics the insurance companies tend to use, and they’ll protect you from unfair blame.
Other ways a Utah car accident lawyer can help you with a claim:
- Gather supporting documentation to support the full value of your claim for damages
- Identify all the insurance policies that apply to your accident
- Handle all administrative tasks and all communication with the insurance companies
- Negotiate with the insurance adjuster to help you get a fair settlement offer
- Prepare to file a personal injury lawsuit and present your case in court, if the insurance company refuses to give a fair offer
Unfortunately, suppose a reputable attorney doesn’t represent you. In that case, insurance companies may try to take advantage of you and pressure you into accepting a settlement that’s less than what you deserve. That’s why it’s so important to have an attorney on your side who knows how to negotiate with insurance companies.
Contact an Experienced Car Accident Attorney
If you’ve been in a car accident, the experienced personal injury attorneys at America’s Accident Attorneys can help you with your insurance claim. We’re here to help you get the full and fair compensation you deserve for your car accident injuries.
We understand how overwhelming and stressful it can be to deal with the aftermath of a car accident. Let us take on the insurance companies so you can focus on your recovery.
Contact us today for a free consultation.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Should I Still Get a Lawyer for an Accident That Was My Fault?
Yes, it would be best if you still got a lawyer. In addition to investigating the extent of your fault, an experienced truck accident lawyer will negotiate with your insurance company to resolve the claim.
What Is the Most Common Injury in a Truck Accident?
The most common injuries in a truck accident are spinal cord injuries, traumatic brain injuries, head and neck injuries, and broken bones.
A truck or even a semi-truck accident can cause fatal and life-long injuries. For your medical expenses to be adequately covered, ensure that you wait until the end of the anticipated recovery period before settling your truck accident case.
What Auto Insurance Is Required in Utah?
The liability coverage limits in Utah are 25/65/15. That means $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $65,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident for property damage.
How Long After I Purchase Vehicle Do I Need Insurance in Utah?
You have 2-30 days to register your vehicle and get insurance in Utah. You may be fined if you’re stopped by a law enforcement officer and can’t show proof of insurance.